Ray Lewis, Abraham, David, MLK & Malcolm X: Public Display of Faith & Private Indiscretion

Posted on February 4, 2013

0


“We don’t judge a man because of the color of his skin. We don’t judge you because you’re white; we don’t judge you because you’re black; we don’t judge you because you’re brown. We judge you because of what you do and what you practice”

Malcolm X

“I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character.”

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

“I don’t care about my character here on earth. I don’t care about what other people think or say about me, all I care about is my standing before the Lord.”

Brigham Young

 

#1 Discourse about Men of Faith and their sexuality is not new.

Ray Lewis-Future NFL Hall of Famer

6 children by 4 women

Abraham-Father of Judeo-Christian & Islam Faiths-Genesis Chapter 20

Deceives King Abimelech about Sara

Sara & Haggai

King David-Shepherd & Psalmist-2 Samuel 11

Bathsheba-Adultery & Murder

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.-Preacher & Civil Rights Activist

Infidelity

Malcolm X-Teacher

Same Sex Relationships

#2 They were corrected or convicted for their actions.

 

#3 Those wronged by their actions will be remembered

And Jesse begat David the king begat Solomon of her that had been the wife of Urias.

St Matthew 1:6

#4 Misconduct does not disqualify you from Divine Grace & Acceptance.

#5 Persons of faith are admonished to let their light shine.

#6 To be criticized for sharing your faith publicly is par for the course.

#7 Since they probably will not be forgiven or accepted in this life, they all yearn for acceptance by a Higher Power.

 #8 Their actions are apart of folklore and pop culture. Hallelujah-Leonard Cohen.

                                   

“Hallelujah”

I’ve heard there was a secret chord

That David played, and it pleased the Lord

But you don’t really care for music, do you?

It goes like this

The fourth, the fifth

The minor fall, the major lift

The baffled king composing Hallelujah

 

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Your faith was strong but you needed proof

You saw her bathing on the roof

Her beauty in the moonlight overthrew you

She tied you to a kitchen chair

She broke your throne, and she cut your hair

And from your lips she drew the Hallelujah

 

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Baby I have been here before

I know this room, I’ve walked this floor

I used to live alone before I knew you.

I’ve seen your flag on the marble arch

Love is not a victory march

It’s a cold and it’s a broken Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

There was a time when you let me know

What’s really going on below

But now you never show it to me, do you?

And remember when I moved in you

The holy dove was moving too

And every breath we drew was Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

 

Maybe there’s a God above

But all I’ve ever learned from love

Was how to shoot at someone who outdrew you

It’s not a cry you can hear at night

It’s not somebody who has seen the light

It’s a cold and it’s a broken Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

You say I took the name in vain

I don’t even know the name

But if I did, well, really, what’s it to you?

There’s a blaze of light in every word

It doesn’t matter which you heard

The holy or the broken Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

I did my best, it wasn’t much

I couldn’t feel, so I tried to touch

I’ve told the truth, I didn’t come to fool you

And even though it all went wrong

I’ll stand before the Lord of Song

With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Hallelujah

References:

I May Not Get There With You: The True Martin Luther King, Jr. by Michael Eric Dyson

Making Malcolm: The Myth & Meaning of Malcolm X by Michael Eric Dyson

Malcolm X: A Life Of Reinvention by Manning Marable

The Holy Or The Broken; Leonard Cohen, Jeff Buckley & The Unlikely Ascent of Hallelujah by Alan Light

Posted in: Uncategorized